Find out the latest indie author news. For FREE.

Will's Adventure to the Candy Mountain

Children/Young Adult; Other Nonfiction; (Market)

Will's grandmother has told Will about the Candy Mountain since he was a small child. One night he is awakened by the conductor of a train. He was told to hurry to catch the train "What train?"" The train to the Candy Mountain of course," Will can hardly believe he is going to the Candy Mountain. On the train he meets a boy named Quinn, They decide to go on the adventure together, Together there are many decisions to make. Each one more mysterious than the last. What will they find?What decisions will they have to make?
Reviews
This lengthy but often delightful picture book follows a young boy’s uncomplicated adventure in a magical candy-themed land. After Will listens to his grandmother’s stories about Candy Mountain, he’s woken in the middle of the night by a train conductor who whisks him off to that very place. He befriends another boy named Quinn, and together they tour Candy Mountain, stuffing their baskets and bellies with different types of candies and treats. Eventually they catch the train home, and Will is astonished to awaken with a candy basket by his bed.

Haller’s gentle tale is inspired by stories she told to her grandson. Her vivid descriptions of Candy Mountain―“gumdrops of many colors, candy canes, gingerbread men and women all over the branches of the tree”―will charm young readers, though there are some awkward phrases and repetitions. (By a sign that says “Root Beer Lake,” the boys dip cups in a brown lake. “It was root beer,” the narration explains. “This is root beer,” adds Will.) Cho’s colorful, dreamy paintings of giant lollipop trees and ice cream–coated mountaintops are complex and visually pleasing, but her human and humanoid figures can look stiff, and the small text is sometimes hard to read against the busy illustrations.

Adults will appreciate that the book celebrates and rewards polite behavior; “only good children” can pass through Candy Mountain’s entrance, and when it’s time to leave, Will and Quinn promptly return to the train without complaint, happy to share their loot with each other. Full of wonder but lacking tension, the narrative may not hold young children’s attention for 60 pages, but it’s a pleasant read-aloud if stretched out over several bedtimes. Placid and relaxing, Will’s ramble through Candy Mountain is sure to inspire sweet dreams.

Takeaway: This relaxing journey through a land of treats is a pleasant low-key bedtime story for young children.

Great for fans of Elsa Beskow’s Peter in Blueberry Land, Tomie dePaola’s When Everyone Was Fast Asleep.

Production grades
Cover: B
Design and typography: B-
Illustrations: B+
Editing: B-
Marketing copy: B+

News
10/02/1919
Book Nook: Will's Adventure to the Candy mountain

Book Nook: Will's Adventure to the Candy Mountain

Gifted educator and author Dr. Gerry Haller presents a delicious and wholesome fantasy story that will touch the hearts of readers of all ages this holiday season in her new children’s picture book “Will’s Adventure to the Candy Mountain.” More than just a sweet experience, the entertaining story also instills the importance of being a good and kind person, as well as the benefits that can be gained with it.

 

The story follows a young boy named Will whose dream finally comes to reality as he embarks on a magical journey to Candy Ville and travels through the Candy Mountain. Readers will be asking for seconds (of reading the book again that is) after they finish this charming story and will be reminded that good things come to those who are respectful and considerate. To learn more please visit, www.willsadventuretothecandymountain.com. 

 

Author interview:

1.                            Why did you write this book?

I told this story every Saturday night to my Grandson’s Will and Quinn. It started little and grew. Will was so excited about the story that he felt I should write the story in a book. He strongly felt that it was unfair for just the two of them should hear it. He felt all children should hear it. What could be better than going to the Candy Mountain, so one day I sat down and started writing it. So here we are having an adventure to the Candy Mountain. 

2.                            What makes this book kid-friendly?

Every child loves the thought of going to an adventure on the Candy Mountain. It turns out to be such a beautiful place. In order to get there, you must be well behaved. The best child. In the story the boys are so well behaved with such good manners. It is such fun to hear how mannerly they are with all the characters in the story. There are mysteries they must solve and the children love the mysteries and so do the adults. 

3.                            How can parents use books to start conversations about kindness?

By raising questions as they go through the pages of the book. There are so many good books you can read that you can bring up about the importance of kindness and good manners. Dr. Seuss’s book “The Sneetches.” He wrote many stories about the importance of what happens when you are not kind. There was always a moral to his stories.  When you read a story, you should always bring up questions. That’s how you teach reading and understanding.

4.                            What's your favorite thing about being an author?

Seeing the excitement on everyone’s face. I really did not expect to see the excitement on people’s face. I would see it on small children to twelve-year old’s, parents to grandparents, teenagers who would want to read the book to a little brother or sister, or  friend’s would stop in to buy a book. Even my Doctor when I gave him a copy of the book. It was endless. It was such a thrill. It put such a big smile on my face.

 

About the author

Author Dr. Gerry Haller is an accomplished educator having received many awards in the teaching, curriculum and administrative fields. Some of these awards include being recognized for The Golden Apple, The Carnegie Foundation for her teaching in the Inner City of Chicago and receiving the Phi Delta Kappa Award for being outstanding Principal of the Year. She received her Doctor of Education from Nova Southeastern University and is a proud mother and grandmother currently residing in Medinah, Illinois.

11/04/1919
Gifted Educator Releases Inspiring Children's Book

This book has AMAZING illustrations and a great imagination from the author! It is about a boy who hears a story from his grandma, and to me that is a great thing!</p> <p>I found this book to be a great children’s book. It has all the great components I look for when buying books for my kids. There is sharing and tons of kindness but also a lot of fun and color! The description is detailed but lets them imagine so much also. It’s one that we will be reading for a long time coming! The link is below! Hope you love it too!

Sirius Sunshine State of Mind

The adventure is going to make little readers so happy, the illustrations brighten the mood. The message that the author has made in the very beautiful word styling makes this a great book for schools or teaching.

Cassandra M

A delightful new children’s picture book “Will’s Adventure to the Candy Mountain.” More than just a sweet experience, the entertaining story also instills the importance of being a good and kind person, as well as the benefits that can be gained with it. The story follows a young boy named Will whose dream finally comes to reality as he embarks on a magical journey to Candy Ville and travels through the Candy Mountain. Readers will be asking for seconds (of reading the book again that is) after they finish this charming story and will be reminded that good things come to those who are respectful and considerate.</p> <p>Be Happy Be Kind

Groovinmoms.com

12/16/2019
Will's Adventure to the Candy Mountain

Will's Adventure to the Candy Mountain by Dr. Gerry Haller

Will's grandmother has told Will about the Candy Mountain since he was a small child. One night, Will is awakened by the conductor of a train. He is told to hurry to catch the train. What train? The train to the Candy Mountain, of course. On the train, he meets a boy named Quinn, and they decide to go on the adventure together. Will, can hardly believe he is going to the Candy Mountain. Together, there are many decisions to make. Each one is more mysterious than the last. What will they find? What decisions will they have to make?

Buy it on Amazon, Barnes and noble, Anderson’s Book  Store.

I received a complimentary copy.

Cassandra's Review- The adventure is going to make little readers so happy, the illustrations brighten the mood.  The message that the author has made in the very beautiful word styling makes this a great book for schools or teaching. 

Posted by Cassandra M at 12/16/2019 

Email ThisBlogThis!Share to TwitterShare to FacebookShare to Pinterest

 

Loading...