Find out the latest indie author news. For FREE.

Formats
Paperback Details
  • 05/2020
  • 978-1777191900
  • 467 pages
  • $16.95
Gabriel Veiga
Author
Yesterday Is Not Yet Gone

Adult; Mystery/Thriller; (Market)

Ever wondered how badass it would be to have a Lethal Weapon with women? Yesterday Is Not Yet Gone is just that. It’s a novel about two female detectives that is both dark and twisted, as well as a little funny. A Hollywood icon is murdered in his hotel room at the Four Seasons in New York City: his head has been severed from his body by a sword. Retiring NYPD detective Judy Hunter and her partner Fred Gibbins investigate the tragic death. The killer has left a note saying that “A Reckoning is Coming.” Two days later, after Judy Hunter’s retirement party, Fred Gibbins is found dead in his apartment, with a rope around his neck. Everybody assumes it's a suicide, except for Judy and his daughter, Charlotte. The two women team up to investigate, and they quickly discover they are dealing with a serial killer whom they are naming the Executioner. What's the true story behind these killings? Is it linked to an enigmatic past? The novel is a crazy tale of revenge, justice, prejudices and high school bullying, but also a story of friendship and love.
Reviews
Veiga’s fast-paced debut whodunit combines murder and intrigue while introducing a not-so-ragtag team of strong female leads who must navigate an intricate web of lies and small-town secrets to catch a serial killer. Judy Hunter, a newly retired NYPD detective, and Charlotte Gibbins, the daughter of Judy’s former partner, form an unlikely crime-solving duo. When Hollywood star Ethan Gregory is murdered the day of Judy’s retirement, Judy is resigned to leaving the investigation to her trusted partner, Fred Gibbins, but then Fred dies suddenly. Judy teams up with Charlotte, who is determined to be a detective like her father, to find out the truth about Fred’s death as well as Ethan’s.

Veiga keeps the story flowing with short chapters that quickly alternate between the perspectives of Judy and Charlotte. The characters’ attitudes and viewpoints are expressed vividly through colorful, sometimes choppy dialogue. The cast of characters is large and diverse with interconnecting story lines, adding additional layers of conflict and suspense. Tensions often flare when Hunter’s replacement, Eddie White, a good ol’ boy from Louisiana, makes an appearance. Albeit a tad clichéd, Eddie’s arrogance and personal beliefs exemplify prejudices and racist views that create inequalities within the legal system.

Elements of mystery and suspense are combined with the complexities of navigating a career that’s less friendly to some races, genders, and sexual orientations. The chapters are packed with action and usually end on cliffhangers that hold the reader’s attention. The rural setting and the warm relationship between Judy and Charlotte give the story an almost cozy feel and set the backdrop for a true mystery thriller that keeps readers guessing until the end.

Takeaway: Fans of cozy murder mysteries will find delight in this story’s fast-paced plot and quirky, diverse cast of characters.

Great for fans of Gillian Flynn’s Sharp Objects, Tana French, Agatha Christie.

Production grades
Cover: B-
Design and typography: A
Illustrations: -
Editing: B
Marketing copy: B+

Formats
Paperback Details
  • 05/2020
  • 978-1777191900
  • 467 pages
  • $16.95

Loading...