Find out the latest indie author news. For FREE.

Mystery/Thriller

  • Obsidian

    by Sherri Fulmer Moorer
    She thought it was over. She was wrong. Detective Claire Barnes thought the case that haunted Tanger Falls, Tennessee, was nearing it’s final days after three and a half years. The accused is scheduled to stand trial in what appears to be an open and shut federal case, and she’s ready to relax and help the small town rebuild. Everything is on track until there’s high tech intervention that alters the evidence to resurrect things that had been buried, causing Claire to suffer from nightmares ... more
  • Move

    by Sherri Fulmer Moorer
    BE CAREFUL WHAT YOU WISH FOR. Ruby Josen is a nobody desperate to become somebody. She’s been trapped in Tanger Falls, Tennessee, her entire life, watching others move on while she’s stuck in a rut of grief after her mother’s death. Ruby passes her misfortune off as bad luck, until she’s passed over for a promotion that she’s worked ten years to achieve. In desperation, she turns to a mystery man who promises that he can remove the obstacles holding her back – all she has to do is accept his... more
  • Rx for Retribution

    by Sylvia A. Nash

    When two small-town doctors are murdered under similar circumstances, police suspect random act of violence no longer applies. Their discovery that each man lost a patient because of medical negligence strengthens their suspicion.

    Dr. Ellen Guthrie has struggled most of her adult life with the issue of professional accountability. The murders of her colleagues force her to confront both the issue and the killer head-on as her psychological clashes turn personal and physical.

  • Satan's Treasure

    by Lou Volpentesta
    Set in 1990's New York, a city struggling to reinvent itself, Satan's Treasure is a dark thriller that follows the fortunes of four strangers with an obsessive desire to succeed. When a brutal murder takes place in midtown Manhattan, the four are drawn together, with catastrophic results.
  • Long Road Out Of Ur

    by Joel Thimell
    Something is rotten in Mesopotamia. A troublesome priest has been murdered; the pagan New Year's rites were defiled; a royal tomb is robbed; and a would-be grifter, Lot, is in the wrong place at the wrong time. His father, grandfather and cousin are each likely suspects and Lot doesn't know who he can trust. Everybody thinks he knows where the loot is hidden and somebody wants it all--even if it's over Lot's dead body. Lot's comical attempts to con his way out of danger only entangle him dee... more
  • Bed-Bugged

    by Susan J. Kroupa
    Bed-Bugged, by award-winning author Susan J. Kroupa, has delighted fans of gentle mysteries as well as dog lovers of all ages. Best-selling author Virginia Smith calls it "a first-rate mystery" and a "triumphant beginning to a series." And readers have called the Doodlebugged mysteries perfect for fans of Spencer Quinn’s bestselling Chet & Bernie mysteries. Ask Doodle why he flunked out of service-dog school and he’ll tell you: smart and obedient don’t always go hand in hand. Now he has ... more
  • Speculator

    by Doug Casey
    The greatest gold discovery in history draws a young Charles Knight to West Africa, where he unearths deception, violence, and romance. Xander Winn a Dutchman on his own mission mentors Charles on his voyage into the world of speculation and African politics. But a psychopathic rebel leader, the purveyors of a six-billion-dollar fraud, a team of mercenaries bent on early retirement, and the US government all get in his way. Everyone wants him dead. But Charles plans to strike it rich.
  • God on Mayhem Street

    by Kristin A. Oakley
    Chicago Examiner reporter Leo Townsend has landed the interview of a lifetime with openly gay, front-running US presidential candidate Griffin Carlisle. But when Leo is forced to abandon the interview to rush to the side of his estranged father who has suffered a near-fatal heart attack, Leo's personal and professional worlds collide. When Carlisle offers to visit the Townsend farm for an interview, secrets are exposed that jeopardize not just Leo's family, but an entire nation.
  • Shades of Blue

    by Kenny Ferguson
    New York City Police Department Internal Affairs Sergeant Charlie Weadock confronts the three biggest challenges of his life. The NYPD has ordered him to work with Detective Lieutenant Vincent Kennedy to track down a serial killer known only as Ramon. Weadock believes Ramon is an active police officer, but Kennedy does not. Their investigation is complex and fiery because they grew up on the same Manhattan Street, and they hate each other for personal reasons. While pursuing the Ramon case... more
  • THE SYMPHONY HEIST: A TALE OF MUSIC AND DESIRE

    by Kameel Nasr
    Melody Cavatina, a young and exceptionally talented cellist, is scheduled to premiere a finger-cracking solo in Rio in conjunction with the signing of a controversial trade agreement. As the orchestra heads to the airport, their priceless instruments are hijacked. Genial police Lieutenant Lowell is called to solve the case. Told with a focus on music, irreverent and witty, THE SYMPHONY HEIST is a thoroughly satisfying mystery, fun and informative. Lowell is becoming one of the most delightful c... more
  • 0991538153

    by Ellie Campbell
    Crouch End Confidential, the agency started by housewife and mother, Cathy O'Farrell, with ex-cleaner, Pimple, is failing badly. Hardly surprising when Cathy's too soft-hearted to charge their only clients, little old ladies seeking lost pets and a school kid searching for his stolen bike. A new case involving a teenager in possession of an unexplained Glock pistol promises to change all that. Quickly Cathy's deep in waters over her head, forced with hilarious results to pose as a mathematics tu... more
  • Text: A Thriller

    by Bryan W. Alaspa

    Abe Yates is a successful true crime author. He makes a living writing about the crimes and deaths of others, but that living has allowed him to provide a great house and life for his wife and two kids. His latest novel is about a vicious hit-man and serial killer known as The Saint. It is already destined to become a runaway bestseller with a movie option at the ready. Life is good.

    Until the morning he reaches for his cell phone and finds a mysterious video text. A text that shows som... more

  • How Existentialism Almost Killed Me: Kierkegaard Was Right

    by Michael Bernhart

    The fourth book in the series picks up fourteen years after the third (How Speleology Restored My Sex Drive). Max and Sally Brown are comfortably ensconced in Geneva and both are wondering if their lives of comfort and privilege don’t require they make a contribution. They find token employment with the CIA. This converts to an assignment to uncover the source of counterfeit anti-malarial drugs in Southeast Asia. Unprepared, and overly zealous, their every effort seems to result in the ... more

  • How Speleology Restored My Sex Drive

    by Michael Bernhart

    Nine years after the second volume in the series, Max Brown and his soul-mate/wife Sally are struggling to raise frighteningly precocious twin daughters and Max is confronting the early signs of aging. The twins maneuver Max and Sally into a treasure hunt for Confederate gold in north Georgia. Seven members of the Ku Klux Klan have been after the same treasure but Sally’s unstable uncle (Vietnam) has unique and useful information. The twins and uncle are kidnapped by the Klansmen, setti... more

  • How Ornithology Saved My Life

    by Michael Bernhart
    How Ornithology Saved My Life picks up one year after the end of the first book. Max has now found his soul-mate and the two are living comfortably off the treasure Max unearthed in Dhaka. Four of the six ex-spies are still alive and seeking to settle the score – and retrieve the treasure. They murder Max’s parents to flush him out. Max and his partner take refuge on a small Dutch island where they’re attacked twice by the ex-spies. The final battle takes place in a small plane at 19,000’, with ... more
  • How I Made $3,200,000 from My Hobby

    by Michael Bernhart
    Maxwell Smythe Brown IV is a smart-ass by choice. The burden of a pretentious name is under-appreciated. To deflect the taunts of his peers, Brown becomes the point person in pranks, taunts, and mischief that keep him in constant hot water with teachers, coaches, bosses and colleagues. It’s not all bad: this disregard for authority and convention helps him survive the Vietnam war. But his inability to keep his mouth shut and his fly zipped costs him his teaching job and he’s exiled to Dhaka, Ban... more

Loading...